Part 12 Difficulty levels.

We have now covered each of the main folds and used several examples on how to fold them. You should be ready to try some of the other models on this website. To help you, I have given a difficulty rating for each of them. This is based on both the OUSA difficulty system and that used in most of John Montroll's origami books.

One star :
These models are the simplest ones on this site. They correspond to the OUSA classifications of simple and low intermediate.

Two stars :
These models are moderately difficult and should not really be attempted by beginners to origami. They correspond to the OUSA classification of intermediate.

Three stars :
These models are fairly difficult and should only be attempted by those who are fairly comfortable with folding. Some stages are quite tricky. They correspond to the OUSA classification of high intermediate.

Four stars :
These models are difficult to fold, either due to difficult sequences, a large number of delicate folds, or due to the thickness of the paper achieved. Only experience folders should have a go, and large sheets of paper are best used or the model will frequently tear or collapse. They correspond to the OUSA classification of complex.

Until now, most of the models have been one star difficulty.

Previous. 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. Next